Wake Up With Olivia: Intro & How I Get Up

Hi everybody! Olivia here. πŸ™‚

One of the things that I changed when I switched over blogs was my content. I decided to do more lifestyle sort of things, and today that’s exactly what I’ll be doing.

I’m starting a new series called Wake Up With Olivia, which is going to be a sequence of posts dedicated to my school morning routine! I’m hoping you’ll all enjoy it. I know I love reading or watching videos about other people’s routines because it gives me inspiration.

As I go, I may slightly alter the posts, but here are the posts I’m thinking I’ll do for Wake Up With Olivia.

  • How I Get Up (today’s post)
  • Picking Out My Outfit (I have a whole system)
  • Eating Breakfast
  • My Makeup Routine
  • Hair

That’s my rough draft. Looking at it, it seems a little odd, but I promise the breakfast won’t be “I had a smoothie.” It would be more along the lines of me giving breakfast ideas, recipes, etc. The same goes for the others.

Today’s post is going to be How I Get Up! I can’t wait to begin, so let’s get started. πŸ™‚

image

I’m one of those people who can’t get up right away. I have to hit snooze, sleep, and then turn my alarm clock off to wake up effectively. I use the Clock app on my iPad for my alarm. It’s across the room from my bed, so I have to get out of the cozy comforter to actually hit it. This is really helpful because it gets you out of bed!

On school days, I wake up at 6:30 am. Technically, it ends up being 6:39, since I snooze once.

image1 (9)

I love getting up to an alarm on my iPad because you can choose any song from your iTunes library to wake you up! My favorites are songs that start off with lyrics right away or close to the beginning so you can hear the song before you turn it off. I also like to use songs with cool instrumental beginnings, like Sweet Caroline.

Currently, my alarm is Fight Song by Rachel Platten. I try to change it up every week so I can get up to something fresh every now and then!

The next step in my waking up process is sitting up, popping my back, just slowly waking up. Sometimes I’ll lie down in bed with my eyes open, just to let my body rest a little longer. Other days I’ll turn on my lamp and read for a few minutes. Some days I’ll know I need to get up right away for whatever reason and I’ll force myself out of bed instantly.

After I finally get out of bed (usually that’s around 6:45) I usually wrap myself in my amazing blanket that my friend Kara got me for my birthday.Β It is heaven on Earth. It’s so warm, fuzzy, IT HAS BIRDS ON IT, and wraps me up like a burrito perfectly.

image1 (10)

I’ve been known to lie on the floor of my mom’s office, where she’s sometimes already working, or else on the couch as I decide what to have for breakfast or if I’d rather eat, get dressed, do my hair..you know, all those life threatening choices. πŸ˜‰

This leads us directly into the next post in this series! That means I’m stopping here and will be continuing whenever I continue.

I hope you enjoyed this peek into my morning routine. Are you excited for more of Wake Up With Olivia? How do you get up in the morning? Does your morning routine involve as much laying around as mine does? πŸ˜€ See y’all in the comments.

-Oliviaβ™₯

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

