Ways to Organize Your Bookshelf//Ideas for Decluttering Your Bookshelf

Recently, I decided to reorganize my bookshelf. Which, if your bookshelf looks like mine, is a pretty difficult task! 😉

I haven’t started yet, but I’ve been brainstorming some different ways I might want to organize it and decided to share with you so you can use them too, if you want. I’ll also be sharing ideas for bookshelf clean-outs (those are hard for bookworms).

image1

Let’s get started!

Ways to Organize Your Bookshelf

1.) By Genre

I think this would be an effective way to organize a bookshelf! If you want fantasy, you know where to look. Realistic fiction? Check. This would be advantageous if you have a large collection of books because it’d be like your own personal library.

belle-in-library

2.) Alphabetically

This is how my sister’s bookshelf is organized. There are a lot of reasons to love this setup, and there are a lot of reasons to dislike it. It’s great because you can find any book right away. Every single book has its own little slot. It’s bad because if you’re like me, and constantly buying new books, you have to shift over your entire bookshelf every time you get a new novel. 😦 (Funny story. After Carter and I finished alphabetizing her bookshelf, we found one book in her room. I was like, “Seriously?” But the author’s last name started with a Z, so all was well.)

3.) By Color

Definitely the most aesthetically pleasing way to organize. If you’re planning to constantly take pictures of your books for social media, then this is the method for you! 😉 I think it would look really pretty, it would just be hard to find a certain book. I wouldn’t like not having all the books in one series together.

4.) By Favorites

On my current bookshelf, I have all my favorite books on a certain shelf. Then on the shelves surrounding it, I have more series that go together. Finally, I have individual books. This method is fine and works well, but I just don’t think it’s that interesting.

5.) By Title

Much like alphabetical- just using titles instead of the author’s last name. This has the same advantages and disadvantages as alphabetical, plus one: book titles in a series won’t be together.

How to Reduce Your Extensive Book Collection Happily

Let’s face it.

We eat, sleep, and breathe books. We have been spending our birthday money on books ever since we could go to Barnes & Noble. We bought thousands of 100 page chapter books as a child, and are now teenagers buying 500 page novels.

There is not enough space on a bookshelf for all the books we want to have.

So, here are 4 ideas for how to make more room on your bookshelf without feeling like you’re giving a piece of your heart away! 🙂

1.) Store books you don’t read anymore elsewhere. Put them in the top of your closet, in a storage container, the attic, wherever.

2.) Go through your bookshelf seriously. Think to yourself, do I really want to reread this? If the answer is no, then you probably don’t actually want it.

3.) Don’t keep books from the past. If you still have all 26 of the A-Z Mysteries or at least 38 Boxcar Children, it’s probably time to let go. They were-and are-amazing books, but someone else who has never read them will enjoy them much more than you.

4.) Give your books away to a friend. If there’s a book you have weeded out, but don’t want to never see again, give it to a bookish friend. Then you can borrow it again if you ever want to read it. And you’ll know it’s in good hands.

I hope all these ideas helped you organize and reduce your bookshelf! 🙂 How is your bookshelf organized? What are your tips? I would love to hear from you in the comments. See you all next Monday!

-Olivia♥

 

9 thoughts on “Ways to Organize Your Bookshelf//Ideas for Decluttering Your Bookshelf

  1. Lovely post 🙂 I can’t wait to see how you organize your shelves. I have multiple different shelves and they are all different sizes so my shelves are organized in different ways. I’ve got one that has my all time favorites, some by color, one by genre, and some just random. It really depends.
    Some good tips on parting with your books too. I’ve always struggled with letting them go (and really, who doesn’t??)

    Like

    • Thank you, Brooke! 😊
      I finished reorganizing a few days ago, so expect a post on that in a few weeks. Your bookshelf sounds a bit like how mine was before!
      I know, right? It’s so hard to part with books, even when it feels necessary!
      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. I like my alphabetical bookshelf except when i get new books hahah!! but good post!!
    please tell me at home where you got the font for the cover photo i luv it

    Like

  3. my bookshelves used to be organised by color and it was super pretty but I had WAY too many blue books and hardly any pink ones!!! Now it is sort of organised by genre but if I get another book shelf then I think I’ll go back to colors. Thank you for that epic post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

