An Exclusive Interview with Claim To Fame!

Hi everybody! 🙂

First of all, HAPPY HALLOWEEN! I hope you’re all having a great time celebrating it however you want to celebrate- going to a party, dressing up, trick-or-treating, handing out candy, or maybe just eating candy. 😉

Today’s post is going to be a review of Claim to Fame, by Margaret Peterson Haddix. It’s not a normal review, though- I’m going to be “interviewing” the book! I got this idea from Brooke over at the Brookeworm and thought I definitely had to do it. I usually feel as if my reviews don’t give enough information, so this is the perfect way for me to do a solid review.

I’ll be in the bold. Claim to Fame will be the normal font.

Let’s get started!

Hi there, Claim to Fame! I’m so excited to do be doing this interview with you. Can you start us off with a brief summary of yourself?

It’s an honor to be here. 🙂 I’m 256 pages in hardcover, so I’m a fairly quick read. I’m kind of in between genres- like, my plot couldn’t happen in real life, but I’m not full of aliens, robots, or evil scientists. I’d be realistic fantasy, if that makes any sense! I tell the story of a girl who can hear anything anybody says about her.

Anything? Really?

Yep. Lindsay Scott, my main character, used to be a celebrity. But then the voices came, and they overwhelmed her. She retreated to a “safe house” where she could finally have silence. In my story, she’s brought back to the world with a bang and begins to learn more about her talent and what other people think of her.

So…tell me more about Lindsay. Who does she live with?

She used to be on the cover of all the popular magazines- and now nobody’s seen her years. Basically, she’s become sort of a hermit. She doesn’t know what happened to her mother, and her father…well, that’s part of the book, so I can’t tell you!

Does she have any friends? What does she do for fun?

Throughout the book, Lindsay makes new and unexpected friends. Um, I guess she really doesn’t do anything for fun. Homework? Mostly, she concentrates on keeping the voices away and that means she stays inside all the time. She doesn’t want to face the world after her experience in child acting, either.

Are you a clean middle grade story?

Definitely. I’d probably recommend myself to anybody twelve and up, or younger depending on their reading level. There’s absolutely nothing in me that an eight-year-old couldn’t read, but I may not be easy enough for an elementary schooler. That’s one of my best qualities- you don’t see clean MG/YA fiction too much!

Oh! Speaking of that, what are your other great qualities?

I have a plot that’ll keep you guessing and keep you reading.

Yeah, I officially admit to reading you as I brushed my teeth and put on my shoes.

That’s a little strange, but I’m flattered! I also have great characters. You’ll be intrigued by Lindsay, love Roz’s personality, and of course think Toby and Darnell are annoying..yet the story wouldn’t be the same without them. You’ll stop just reading my story but feel like you’re living it! There are a lot of moments where you gasp and drop me because you’re like, WHAT. Trust me. I have the bruises to prove it!

Agreed. 😉 Anything else to cover?

One last thing. You’ve never seen a storyline like mine before- I mean, Lindsay can hear anything anyone is saying about her! I don’t think you’ll find another book like mine anywhere.

I think this about covers everything! Thanks for doing this interview with me, Claim to Fame. I hope all you readers enjoyed it as much as I did.

This was great! Thank you so much for having me on Purely Olivia!

Well, this was fun to write. 🙂 Have you read Claim to Fame before? Do you like Margaret Peterson Haddix’s other books? See you all in the comments, and thanks for reading!

-Olivia♥

9 thoughts on “An Exclusive Interview with Claim To Fame!

  1. What a fascinating method of reviewing! Though I am a great Haddix fan, I haven’t picked up Claim to Fame quite yet – but it is next on my TBR, and I cannot wait to read it. It sounds like one to devour & think about for weeks to come, like so much of Haddix’s work. I truly enjoyed this post, dear Olivia; thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on the book with us. ❤

    Topaz (Six Impossible Things)

    Like

  2. This is a fun post XD I read Margaret’s book Among the Hidden a long time ago, and I remember liking it. By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster award! You can find more details on my blog 🙂
    ~Lilah

    Like

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

