Being Thankful for Thanksgiving

Sometimes I feel like Thanksgiving doesn’t get enough recognition. We dress up for Halloween and put scarecrows in our front yards, then excitedly take out the Christmas tree and buy gifts, all the while forgetting there’s a holiday between the two.

I’m just as guilty as anybody else. During the stretch of late October to early November I often find myself thinking, “I wish we could just skip over Thanksgiving!”

It’s easy to glance over the plates of turkey and pie, forget about the Pilgrims, and instead turn your mind to presents, trees, decorations, and carols. I do it all the time! But we need to remember that Thanksgiving has a place in the holiday season, too, and it’s there to be appreciated.♥

In today’s post, I’m going to list out a few of my favorite things about Thanksgiving! As I said, I often tend to fast forward through Thanksgiving in a rush to reach Christmas, so this is really forcing myself to slow down and acknowledge the holiday. I’ll also list some things I’m thankful for and invite you to do the same. 🙂

The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

I love the parade. I watch it every year in my grandmother’s living room while my mom and grandma make Thanksgiving dinner in the kitchen.


That was my front row view of the parade last year!

The Decorations

I love the orange tablecloths, turkey napkin holders, candlesticks, and Pilgrim figurines. ❤️

The Food

Obviously. Must I say more?

Seeing Family and Friends

I don’t get to see my grandma all that often, so I always enjoy visiting her. 🙂 One of my good friends lives near her and I normally get to see her when I come, too.

Now I’m going to list just a few of the things I’m thankful for..there are many more!

  • God
  • My family
  • My amazing friends
  • My dog, Brees
  • Dance❤️
  • BOOKS!
  • That I am able to go to school
  • My health
  • Art
  • That I can have a blog
  • Blogging
  • You! For reading this! I can never express how thankful I am for my readers!

There was my short list..what’s yours? See you all in the comments below, and happy Thanksgiving! ❤️ 😉

-Olivia

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

