My Bookshelf Tour 2017!

Hello everybody! 🙂

I have been wanting to do an updated bookshelf tour for a while now, and I’m so excited to finally be typing it out. I did a bookshelf tour back on Writer’s Digest, but since then my bookshelf has been cleaned out, reorganized, and reorganized some more!

For each shelf, I’ll be giving a brief synopsis of the overall shelf, then giving my favorite book or books, the most special book to me, and an interesting fact about either the shelf as a whole or one of the books on that shelf.

image1-1

There’s my entire bookshelf. 😀 I’ll be starting on the second shelf from the top (the one with all the thick books). Let’s begin!

image3-6

My bookshelf is organized by genre, and this shelf is the fantasy/science fiction shelf. As you can see, I have the Harry Potter books (for some reason the Half-Blood Prince isn’t there), all my Percy Jackson books, and some random books.

Favorite Book(s): My favorite books on this shelf would have to be the Harry Potter series. Nothing can top it. ♥

Special Book: The Balance Keepers, which is on the very far right, was autographed by Lindsay Cummings. I haven’t actually finished it, but it was really cool to meet her and it’s one of the few books I have autographed.

Interesting Fact: I got a hardcover copy of The Lost Hero at Half-Price Bookstore for under 10 dollars. And it was in perfect condition. #steal (I promise to never again use hashtags.)

image4-6

This is a continuation of fantasy/science fiction. Then it moves into fairytales and finally into Christian fiction/devotionals/my Bible. Yes, fairytales have their own little section on my shelf. You’re welcome Hans Christian Anderson.

Favorite Book(s): It’s a tie between The Land of Stories series and my collection of classic fairy tales that has the PRETTIEST cover ever and is like a book lover’s dream.

Special Book: My first Bible. It’s on the far right and is the Bible I got from my church when I was in 3rd grade.

Interesting Fact: I haven’t actually read Physik or half of Flyte (the books turned sideways) because I can never get through them. The story is good, but most of the time I forget that I’m reading them and then when I remember, I can’t recall what was last happening in the story. So, every time, I give up.

image5-2

This shelf has historical fiction and begins the realistic fiction section. I have an extensive collection of Dear Americas, but other than that, a wimpy selection of historical fiction. I’ve read tons of World War 2 novels but I don’t own any of them.

Favorite Book(s): That would have to be the Mysterious Benedict Society series, with Absolutely Truly coming in as a close second. By the way, the sequel (Yours Truly) is coming out January 31st- I can’t wait!

Special Book: On the far right is an ARC of Mother-Daughter Book Camp that I won in a giveaway on Heather Vogel Frederick’s blog. It’s autographed and is one of my most prized possessions!

Interesting Fact: I only have 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Series of Unfortunate Events.

image6-2

This bottom shelf is still all realistic fiction. It also includes a clay owl that I made in art class a few years ago. 🙂 A lot of my favorite fictions are on this shelf, and so are many book fair books.

Favorite Book(s): This was the hardest decision so far, but my favorite book one this shelf is Out of My Mind, by Sharon Draper. I did a review on this book on my old blog (an embarrassing review in which I only talked about the characters) and I just love it so much!

Special Book: That would be Book Scavenger, by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman. After reading it, I emailed the author, and she emailed me back. 🙂 Now when I reread it, I remember that the author was kind enough to reply to my email!

Interesting Fact: Many of the books on this shelf were rejects from my sister after she cleaned out her bookshelf. I took them in. 😉

image2-6

Last shelf! All the way back at the top is the last bit of realistic fiction, then some American Girl books, a little non-fiction and finally classics! On the right is the boxed set of Anne books I got for my birthday this year.

Favorite Book(s): Anne of Green Gables. You can never go wrong with Anne! I think she’ll always be my favorite literary character.

Special Book: My edition of The Outsiders, which I received this Christmas, is a 50th anniversary edition and has some cool stuff inside. I absolutely love that book, and have posters on my door with quotes from that book on them. 😀

Interesting Fact: Hidden in the non-fiction section is a Lush catalog. Haha.

And that was my bookshelf! I hope you had as much fun reading this as I did writing it. Tell me about your bookshelf! Do we have any of the same books? What do you have that I don’t? See you all soon.

-Olivia♥

P.S. This is my 20th blog post on Purely Olivia! I’m so happy to hit this milestone!

 

7 thoughts on “My Bookshelf Tour 2017!

Leave a Reply

