How to Make a Reading Nook

Reading nooks are easy to make, fun to use, and necessary for survival. ๐Ÿ™‚ A few months ago my friend Anna and I created one in my closet, and I love it! Today’s post is going to be a tutorial of how to make a reading nook and, at the end, photographs of mine. Let’s get started!

Here is a list of everything you need to make a successful nook. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Feel free to add or subtract items as you please!

  1. Blankets (as many as you want, but at least two)
  2. Stuffed animals
  3. Pillows (depending on the size of your nook, probably small ones)
  4. Decorations such as photos, etc.
  5. The help of a friend or sibling!!
  6. Books…obviously.

These are the suggested conditions for the best possible reading nook area:

  • Well lit. My closet is dimly lit, so I have to use a flashlight, which is not as convenient as it could be.
  • Air conditioned throughout the year (I wouldn’t pick your attic).
  • Comfortable area that you can fit in.
  • Preferably a place where you can shut the door or get privacy as you read. ๐Ÿ˜€

Now that you’ve gathered your materials, which are all things that can be found in any home, and found a place for your nook, it’s time for a step-by-step tutorial on how to assemble your reading nook.

  1. Fold a blanket to create a bottom layer.
  2. Take a second blanket, fold it the same way, and lay it on top of the bottom layer. When you read, you can go in between the two blankets.
  3. Arrange small pillows and stuffed animals however you like.
  4. (At this time, if you have additional blankets, you can arrange them how you like.)
  5. If your nook is beside a wall, then you can now decorate that wall. ๐Ÿ™‚ I taped photos, crepe paper, and ribbon on my wall.
  6. Load up with your favorite books, and you’re done!

Now for some pictures of my nook…

image6-3

Here’s an overview. ๐Ÿ™‚

image4-7I have some pillows and stuffed animals here…

image5-3And here!

image3-8I have some pictures (they’re a little outdated now) and posters torn out of magazines.

image2-7Anna painted this beautiful Bible verse and didn’t want it, so I eagerly took it! ๐Ÿ™‚ (For some reason this picture has really good lighting.)

image1-17It’s the perfect place to relax with a book.ย โ™ฅ

Do you have a reading nook? Are you wanting to create one? Do you like mine? I hope to see you in the comments!

-Oliviaโ™ฅ

6 thoughts on “How to Make a Reading Nook

  1. I’ve always wanted to create a reading nook!!! I’ve got a small box in the corner with a blanket draped over it but it isn’t very comfortable or convenient. I might try to make a nook in my wardrobe to seeing as your looked so cool!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

