Store Up Treasures in Heaven

Hello there! I’m so glad you’ve chosen to read Purely Olivia today. 🙂 This post is the first of its kind- I’m beginning a series centered around my Christian faith. Today I’ll be talking about heavenly treasures. Let’s get started!

First, make a list of things you want or wish you had. I’ll do the same.

  • Laptop
  • More books
  • A new phone case
  • Bath & Body Works hand sanitizer
  • Stationary.
  • Another dog.
  • More clothes.
  • Tall boots.

Look at your list. I’m sure everything you wrote down will make you happy. Upon buying it you’ll experience a thrill of excitement. Some of the things you said will probably give you excitement each time you use it. What you listed will make you happy and satisfied here on Earth, but they won’t benefit you in the long run.

Now open your Bibles or read along with the scripture below. (Matthew 6:19-21)

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Matthew 6:19-21 is the perfect description of what we as humans so often forget. Take another look at your list.

Looking at my own, here is what I notice. Eventually I’ll outgrow the new clothes and shoes and will just need more. Apple and other technology companies will continue to come with newer, better, faster devices until the ones I own are outdated. Stationary will run out and so will hand sanitizer. If I get money, I’ll end up spending it all. Just like in Matthew 6:19, where it says that moths will destroy and thieves will steal, things on Earth only end up disappearing.

My Sunday school teacher once told us a story about an experience he had. He was driving down the road, and his wife wanted to stop at an estate sale she saw a sign for. When they went into the house, he said everything looked exactly like a lived-in, normal house- except it all had price tags on it.

Since the owner of the house had passed away, everything in his house was being sold. And for a much lower price than usual. My teacher told us that hanging in the closet were shirts that the owner had probably paid at least forty dollars for, but were now going for two. Whoever was in charge of the estate just wanted to get rid of everything.

This story made me realize something important. Earthly objects, though they can give us temporary happiness, aren’t meant to last. When we leave Earth, our possessions will not be worth anything. But our heavenly treasures- those will be worth an unimaginable amount.

So, what are heavenly treasures? Here are just a few.

  • Using your talents to serve God and others.
  • Using your resources to serve God and others.
  • Showing love and compassion to everyone, even those who don’t show it back to you.
  • Standing up for your beliefs.
  • Not submitting yourself to the ways of the world around you.

I’m not trying to tell you that you should sell your home or everything you own. I’m not saying that it’s bad to want materialistic things, or that you can’t have them. What I hope you walk away knowing is that it’s important to focus more on heavenly treasures than earthly treasures- because you won’t be living here forever. But heaven is for eternity.

I want to thank my best friend Anna.♥ The two of us lead a Bible study at our school, and this is one of the lessons we prepared, so all “deep thoughts” are just as much hers as mine.

If you want to see more of these posts, have any topic ideas, or want to discuss this with me, I’d be more than happy to chat with you in the comments. Thank you for reading! 😀

-Olivia♥

 

2 thoughts on “Store Up Treasures in Heaven

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

