Room Tour 2017

Hello everyone! Welcome back to Purely Olivia. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you have been a reader of my blog since Writer’s Digest, then you may remember my first room tour. In that post, I showed the difference between my room before and after I redecorated it. Today I’ll be going more in depth, not to mention that I’ve changed a few things since then.

 

Let’s get started!

image1 (19)

My room is fairly small. This picture was taken from my doorway and it gives a better understanding of the setup of my room. I apologize for the horrible lighting! ๐Ÿ˜‰

image2 (8)

First, my desk! I really don’t spend that much time sitting at it, but it is really helpful for holding all the art supplies and notebooks I have. I want to get a desk tour up sometime soon, would you guys like to see that?

Both the desk and the chair are from a nearby mercantile, which is like an antique store. The desk was pink, so we painted it white, and the chair is in its original state. It’s hard to tell in the picture, but in real life you can see that it is a slightly different shade of white. I keep meaning to paint it, though I’ve never gotten around to it!

If you want to learn more about what is on top of my desk, read this post– in a nutshell, I have a few photos and other trinkets.

The bulletin board is from Walmart, and the twinkle lights are from Target. On my bulletin board I have photos and other memorabilia. I used to have a calendar there, but I found that I really never used it, so I didn’t get one for 2017.

image3 (9)

This corner is in between my desk and my bookshelf. This picture has the worst lighting of all time- probably because it was taken in front of an open window. The paint color looks almost green. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Here I have a mirror (also from Walmart), a prayer pillow, and my Harry Potter Time-Turner necklace hanging on it. ๐Ÿ˜€ As you can tell, I have a gorgeous view out my window- our fence and my next door neighbor’s kitchen window.

image4 (8)

I have had this bookshelf for quite a while now. You can read all about it in this post!ย It’s one of my favorite parts of my room, and the background for nearly every picture I put on my blog, haha.

Also in this picture is my CD player, Spin Spot, owl decor from Hobby Lobby, and snowy owl wall hanging. Except in this case it’s a wall leaning.

image5 (4)

My closet door has a poster from when my church choir did Godspell and an autographed book poster ofย Tut: The Story of My Immortal Life that I got when I met P.J. Hoover.

I love the Bible verse above my chest of drawers.โ™ฅ I think it was from Hobby Lobby- isn’t everything cute from there? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Of course, I have my collection of owls, an owl piggy back, and a beautiful crystal cross from my grandmother.

When I redid my room, we painted the chest of drawers white and changed out all the knobs. I picked them out from Hobby Lobby, and it was so fun to choose. My favorites are the owl shaped ones.

image6 (4)

Right next to the chest of drawers is my bedside table. Not much explanation is required, but here’s a brief rundown.

The bottom shelf holds my collection of magazines (over the years I’ve gotten Highlights, National Geographic Kids, and American Girl). The next shelf has a devotional and my Bible, then a mason jar of pens for when I’m reading my Bible and I want to write in it. It also holds all the books I’m currently reading.

The drawer just has bookmarks and some other random junk, and the table holds my clock, lamp, and my newest edition, pillow mist from Bath & Body Works.

image7 (1)

And lastly, my bed. I spend the most time here during the day- it’s where I normally do my homework and read.

I can’t remember where I got my bed or bedding…but I highly recommend all of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My comforter is reversible (the other side has wider pink chevron), but I like the gray better, especially in winter months.

The pillow in the very back is one that my mom had custom made for me- it’s made of an owl fabric and a few of my favorite t-shirts that no longer fit.โ™ฅ (You can see the Taylor Swift one poking out on the left.) The two pillows on the outside of the pillow sandwich came with the bedding, and the one in the middle was given to me by a friend.

image8

I also wanted to show you a view of my photo wall! I got this idea from my sister, and she probably got the idea from Pinterest, haha. It is the easiest and cutest DIY of all time- all you need is nails, twine, clothespins, and photos. I love it because I can see pictures of my friends and family and relive happy memories all day every day!

I hope you guys enjoyed my room tour.โ™ฅ I enjoyed writing it, and thank you for taking the time out of your day to read it.ย What’s your favorite part of my room? Do we have any similar room decor? What is your room like? See you in the comments. ๐Ÿ™‚

-Oliviaโ™ฅ

2 thoughts on “Room Tour 2017

Leave a Reply

