Thoughts on Rereading Books

There are two types of people in this world. Those who reread books, and those who don’t.

I fall into the first category. For all my life, I have been an avid rereader. I memorized picture books from hearing them so many times. I read every A-Z Mystery, twice. I know Harry Potter, the Mother-Daughter Book Club, and several other series like the back of my hand.

It’s hard for me to imagine anyone who doesn’t like to return to their favorite books for a second visit. But I know some people feel that way, so I decided to do a post explaining why I’m a rereader. Let’s get started! πŸ™‚

Rereading

The familiar is comforting.Β And not only with books! When I’m upset or sick, I want to be atΒ my house withΒ my family and everything I’m used to. I’m not sure what it is, but there’s something about the familiar that makes everything seem okay. Books are the same way for me.

My books have memories. Just like with clothes and foods and smells, I associate books with memories. That’s the book I read at the beach.Β That’s the book I was reading when I was on the way to my grandmother’s house. I read that book during summer vacation. Of course, this can also have a downside- for example, I tend to avoid books that I read when I was sick (or reading after state testing). For the most part, though, it’s a good thing to associate memories with books. πŸ˜‰ I can’t imagine never returning to a book that holds precious moments in its pages.

Sometimes I just don’t have anything else good to read. On a less sentimental note, there are many times that I haven’t been to the library and I don’t have any new books (I’ve read nearly every book on my bookshelf). In those cases, I end up picking a favorite off of my shelf.

I discover new things every time I reread a book. There’s nothing better than the thrill of reading a book for what must be the thirtieth time and coming across a paragraph that your eyes skipped over every other time you read it. Am I the only who feels this?!

You can truly connect to the characters. Mostly every bookworm out there feels as if they are friends with their favorite book characters. Because the thing is, we are. (*yes* I know they aren’t real. But we have experienced their experiences and been there with them in their hardest times and best times so I think it counts.) After reading a book once, I don’t feel like I really know the character that well. It takes a few times to get to know them.

I like knowing how the story is going to end. This is one thing that keeps many people from rereading- they don’t like already know what’s going to happen. Well, I’m the opposite of that! I have immense trouble watching movies I’ve never seen before, because I don’t know what’s coming. The first time I read books I sometimes flip to the end before I finish. (Please don’t hurt me.) Circling back to the first reason I listed, knowing what’s going to happen is comforting to me.

Are you a rereader, or not? What are your reasons? I’d love to chat with you in the comment section! I hope you enjoyed this, and thank you for reading.

-Oliviaβ™₯

 

26 thoughts on “Thoughts on Rereading Books

  1. I re-read some of my books. I usually wait until I forget most of the details so it’s kind of like reading it for the first time πŸ™‚ I relate so much to #1! Re-reading a favorite book feels like coming home ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do that, too. It’s the best feeling to read a book and think to yourself, “Oh, I completely forgot this happened!” πŸ˜€
      Yes! The coming home feeling is amazing, too. It makes me feel all cozy inside.
      Thanks for your comment, Lilah!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am definitely a rereader! I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve reread some of my favorite books. I especially agree about discovering new things! It’s so much fun to find a tiny little detail in the story that you missed the first or second time. Great post, Olivia! πŸ™‚

    -Clara ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love rereading books, but they have to be good ones! I don’t think I could even count how many times I have reread some of my favorites. Like you said, it’s just so comforting! When I’m rereading, I don’t usually read from cover to cover. I’m usually going back to reread my favorite parts, the best quotes, etc. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s always fun to re-read your favorites! (although sometimes I cheat and skip around to the best chapters…oops haha) Speaking of which, I just read your reading count page, and HOLY CANNOLI OLIVIA,(haha I just forgot the O…and I’m about to cry. Sorry I just finished Lord of Shadows last night and I’m still *SOB* so emotional over this one character Livia. *just realizing how insane I sound unless you’ve read the book…*) you are like, my reading IDOL. I am such a slow reader; five books a month is a lot for me! How to describe me in two words: book. sloth. πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too, haha! πŸ˜‰
      We all have those moments where we freak out over fictional characters, trust me. You don’t sound crazy!
      Ahhh I’m glad you liked my reading count. πŸ™‚ My secret is that I read alllllll the time, and I reread frequently! (Hence this post.)
      Thanks so much, Sarah!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I immensely enjoy rereading β™₯ I’d reread so much more if I didn’t have so many new releases and books I didn’t read waiting for their moment xD I feel like rereading is necessary to fully take in everything the book has to offer, the foreshadowing I didn’t catch the first time, scenes I completely forgot even though I loved them. It feels so familiar and comforting 😍

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you- let's chat!

