7 Book-Related Activities to do in Summer

Summer can be my favorite and least favorite time of the year all at once. I don’t have school, and I can do fun things with my friends whenever I want, but I also get bored easily and find myself wasting time or being lazy.

It’s sometimes difficult to think of things to keep busy with, so today I will be sharing seven book-related activities you can do this summer! πŸ™‚

7 Book-Related

1. Watch the movie adaptation of a book.

There are so many to choose from! It’s true that the book will always be better, but some movie adaptations do a fantastic job at recreating the story. A few of my favorite adaptations are all the Harry PottersBecause of Winn-Dixie, and The Book Thief.

2. Reorganize your bookshelf.

Reorganizing may sound like too much work, but when it’s books we’re talking about, it can be fun. πŸ˜‰ I wrote a post a while ago allll about bookshelf reorganization, and that may be helpful if you want to reorganize.

fullsizerender-2.jpg

My bookshelf is so photogenic.

3. Write to your favorite authors.

Over spring break, I sent letters to 8 authors and by the first week of July all of them had responded! Some handwrote short messages and others had pre-printed papers, but I was just so excited that I actually got something back.

4. Make a Goodreads account.

Goodreads is a website and app that allows you to track the books you’ve read, books you want to read, and books you’re currently reading. It also gives you recommendations based on the books and authors you’ve read before. I highly recommend it! I use it most for my TBR list, and find it so helpful.

FullSizeRender (10).jpg

5. Cook a recipe from a book.

I’ve noticed that many books have recipes in the back for food mentioned in the book. Isn’t that cool? I’ve never baked anything I read about in a book, but now I want to. πŸ˜€ If you want to take this a step further, I’ve seen this Harry Potter cookbook at Barnes & Noble and on Amazon, and it’s chock full of HP recipes!

6. Make a reading nook.

Reading nooks are essential for your reading needs! This is a simple and easy do-it-yourself and it’s really great to read in. I wrote a post all about mine and how to make one, so go read that if you’re interested!

7. Go to the library.

I love libraries. I mean, who doesn’t love free books?! When you’re bored on a hot summer’s day, go to an air-conditioned library, find a comfortable armchair, and read the day away.


I hope that these activities help quench your boredom! πŸ˜‰ How is your summer so far? What do you like to do to fight boredom? See you in the comments!

-Oliviaβ™₯

2 thoughts on “7 Book-Related Activities to do in Summer

Leave a Reply

