5 Books That Should be Classics Someday

Classics are classic. Everyone recognizes their name, they’ve been loved for years, and they’ll be loved for years to come. They’re iconic.

I can’t help but wonder, what are the classics of the future? In 2117, what books will still be well-known? I can’t see ahead, or influence what the next generation of classics will be, but I thought it would be interesting to list a few books that I personally believe should be loved for years to come.

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, by J.K. Rowling {summary}

IMG_3158

Y’all know me. I had to put Harry Potter in here. I read Harry Potter for the first time years ago, and I can’t imagine there ever being a time when people aren’t interested in these books! J.K. Rowling has created a world so vivid that I can see it captivating readers for generations.

2. Bud, Not Buddy, by Christopher Paul Curtis {summary}

IMG_3162

This book is fairly short, at only 236 pages, but don’t underestimate it. It’ll make you laugh, cry, and fall in love with Bud (not Buddy). I think one of the reasons this book should become a classic is because it’s historical fiction, set during the 1930s. It’s a good way to learn about how life was back then, yet still read an incredible story.

3. The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton {summary}

IMG_3160

My shirt is very accurate…let’s just say I was slightly sunburnt in these pictures.

I first read The Outsiders in seventh grade as required reading, and I didn’t think I would like it. But, despite my doubts, I ended up falling in love with it. It shines light on people in a society who are seen as gang members and live on the “bad side” of town, changing my perspective and making me think in new, interesting ways. I can see people still enjoying this book years from now.

4. Because of Winn-Dixie, by Kate DiCamillo {summary}

IMG_3163

It’s a book. It’s a movie. Because of Winn-Dixie is most definitely iconic! Lots of books make you fall in love with the characters, but not many make you fall in love with a dog.♥Winn-Dixie has all of his reader’s hearts, and I think it’ll always be that way, no matter how many years pass by.

5. Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White {summary}

IMG_3157

Is Charlotte’s Web already a classic? It was originally published in 1952, so if it’s not already a classic, it’ll become one way before some of the other books I’ve mentioned. 😉 Honestly, the first word that comes to mind when I think of Charlotte’s Web is classic. It’s a tale that has been read and loved for over fifty years now. Most everyone knows the story, and most everyone dearly enjoys it.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my list of (hopefully) future classics! After I got the idea for this post, I had a good time combing my shelves for candidates. 😀

As a quick side note, I noticed that three of these titles (Because of Winn-Dixie, Charlotte’s Web, and Bud, Not Buddy) were all awarded the Newberry Honor award. Whoever is giving that award certainly knows what they are doing!

What books do you think should become classics someday? Do you agree with any of the books on my list? Let’s chat in the comments!

-Olivia♥

P.S. Next week’s post is going to be a big one!😊It’s time for a blog button, and just maybe there might be a blog makeover coming up, too…

P.P.S. I can’t decide if I like the photoshoot my books and I had with my bookshelf? Let’s just say it was impromptu.

 

Leave a Reply

